Dubai Duty Free Irish Open 2019: The Star studded tournament

The tournament needs no introduction, it’s a professional golf tournament on the European Tour. The current title sponsor is Dubai Duty Free. The tournament was first played in 1927 and was played annually, except for the war years, until 1950. The Irish Open is one of the European Tour Rolex Series events.

The 2019 Dubai Duty Free Irish Open will be played on Lahinch Golf Club. Designated as the “St Andrews of Ireland,” this golf club is much popular and renowned amongst those who have played golf in County Clare. It comes as no surprise that Lahinch Golf Club will play host to some of the world’s biggest stars at the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open. Last year, this tournament was held at Ballyliffin.

The Scot, Russell Knox won Irish Open in dramatic fashion, holing a 45-foot birdie putt to force a play-off before sinking an almost identical one on the first extra hole to clinch a maiden Rolex Series title. This year he returns to the tournament and looks confident to defend his title. He will be joined by other golfing biggies like 2017 Race to Dubai Champion Tommy Fleetwood, former Open Champion Louis Oosthuizen, 2016 Masters winner Danny Willett, former World Number One Lee Westwood and home heroes Padraig Harrington and Shane Lowry.

Jon Rahm, the two-time winner, headlines the field while current Race to Dubai leader Matt Wallace also lines up for the 2019 Irish Open edition

The golf freaks can watch the game live on 1sports from 04th June 2019, 6:30PM onwards (IST)


1Sports is an all-new premium sports channel in India, launched by Lex Sportal. 1sport Channel India brings live action from Football, Motorsports, Golf, and Action Sports from around the world.

Leave a Reply