NASCAR All-Star race 2017: Things you need to know about the Monster Energy All-Star Race

The Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race is etched in the history of motor sport for the most memorable moments, trend-setting innovation and big-money pay-outs.

 Never before had an All-Star Race been run under the lights. Dubbed “One Hot Night,” the 1992 race signalled a new era, one that became tradition for the fan-favourite event.

The four-stage format for the 2017 Monster Energy All-Star Race on May 21 (3 a.m. IST, DSport) is a hard-edged, checkers-or-wreckers racing which will provide some thrilling action under the lights.

With $1 million on the line, the only thing to expect on Sunday under the lights at Charlotte Motor Speedway is the unexpected.

The race format is as follows:

  • The race will feature four stages (20 laps, 20 laps, 20 laps, 10 laps), totalling 70 laps, an ode to the 1992 edition of the same distance
  • The goal for all competitors: Earn a spot in the final 10-lap, 10-car stage
  • The winner of each of the first three stages will lock up a spot in the final stage, as long as they remain on the lead lap after the third stage
  • The cars with the best average finish in the first three stages will make up the remaining spots needed to fill the 10-car final stage
  • The remaining 10 cars will be lined up by average finish of the first three stages and given the option to pit. Exit off pit road determines starting order for final stage
  • A total of 20 drivers will be driving in the All-Star race Saturday night. There currently are 16 drivers locked into the shootout with the final four to be determined during the Monster Energy Open
  • The following 16 drivers are already locked in to the all-star field: Chris Buescher, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Joey Logano, Jamie McMurray, Ryan Newman, Martin Truex Jr. and Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  • The winner will be awarded $1,000,000

What is the Monster Energy Open?

The Monster Energy Open is for drivers not locked into the All-Star race and will occur Saturday prior to the main event. The Open will include three stages (20 laps, 20 laps, 10 laps) and the winner of each stage will earn a spot in the All-Star race. The Monster Energy Open field will be set by two rounds of traditional knock-out qualifying. The 20th and final spot in the All-Star race will be determined through a fan vote.

Source: NASCAR

1Sports is an all-new premium sports channel in India, launched by Lex Sportal. 1sport Channel India brings live action from Football, Motorsports, Golf, and Action Sports from around the world.

Leave a Reply